Wednesday, April 16, 2008

Blooddrunk Review

6/10 stars
  1. "Hellhounds on My Trail" – 3:58
  2. "Blooddrunk" – 4:05
  3. "LoBodomy" – 4:24
  4. "One Day You Will Cry" – 4:05
  5. "Smile Pretty for the Devil" – 3:54
  6. "Tie My Rope" – 4:14
  7. "Done with Everything, Die for Nothing" – 3:29
  8. "Banned from Heaven" – 5:04
  9. "Roadkill Morning" – 3:32

Heres the thing, much like American Idol's, beloved David Archuleta; Children of Bodom has no range. Does that make them a bad band? No. Does it make them rather forgettable by track 5? Yes.

By the blistering minute in a half solo in "Banned from Heaven" I couldn't escape the feeling of deja vu. Had I been here before? Certainly Children of Bodom had. As far as new albums go I will put this on my "meh" list. To compare it to such masterpieces as BDM's "Nocturnal" or DTF's (R.I.P) "Are you serious", would be a grave injustice. It has its strong points though, Alexi "Wildchild" Laiho is a great guitarist save a few tone issues, and the punk rock driven, hateful edge of these guys is always fun. The scoop and plop of it is, get your fill of this album in your hesher friends t-top (Dan) and save your money for the new "Light This City" album due out later this year.


  1. That album was siick!

  2. My husband loves Children of Bodom. I seem to share your opinion though, they aren't terribly distinct.